Taking it back to the old school…

Published March 19, 2012 by TrueLifeDiva Sparkles and Shines

Taking it back to the old school…”

     I was having a discussion with my Spin instructor about taking things up a notch and he started spouting off how many calories people burn.  They were really high numbers and that got me to thinking.  How in the hell does he know what anyone is burning?  I go to various fitness websites and use their calculators to estimate how much I burn.  All the calculators were telling me I burned 700 calories per hour yet my instructor was claiming 1,000 calories or more.  Then I remembered I owned a bodybugg.  I bought it in 2008 and newer, sleeker models have come out since but I figured mine would still work.  I spent a day looking for it and dusted that bad boy off.  Since I only wanted to find out what my averages are,  I selected the month to month payment option and reactivated my device.

Let me tell you how shocked I was when I started logging my calories burned!!!  On average I was burning 30% fewer calories than I thought.  That makes a huge difference in whether you lose weight or not.

But guess what? Knowledge is power.  Armed with this new info I was able to adjust my eating and ramp up my activities accordingly.  In three weeks I’ve lost 3 lbs of fat and gained 5 lbs of muscle which really means I’ve lost 8 lbs ;-).  I feel way more in control of my regimen and know in advance if I’m going to meet my goal or not.

Calories burned: 

03-01 TKB 393

03-03 TKB 400

03-05 Spin 413  TKB 412

03-06 TKB 423

03-07 Zumba 432  Spin 444

03-08 TKB 437

03-10  TKB 426  Zumba 469

03-11  Walk 11.46 miles 1,128

03-14 Zumba 402

03-15  TKB 404

03-17  TKB 401  Zumba 464

03-18  TKB 411

I feel good about my progress lately.  I set a mini goal of 15 lbs in 15 weeks or 23% body fat, whichever comes first.  The end date is my birthday.  My body fat is looking awesome so if I reach that number first, the lbs do NOT matter ;-).  How is your fitness journey coming along these days? Any setbacks?  Any victories?  Share your story in the comments!

P.S. Check out the recipe section, I’ve added a lot of great new dishes!

Follow me on Twitter @TrueLifeDiva1

Don’t forget to subscribe to the blog so you don’t miss each new post as it publishes.  😀

WWW.Calorieking.com

WWW.Fitbottomedgirls.com

WWW.Hungry-girl.com

WWW.Active.com

WWW.Selfmagazine.com

WWW.Fitnessmagazine.com

WWW.House-Foods.com

WWW.Sparkpeople.com

WWW.Zumba.com

WWW.24HourFitness.com

WWW.FUdiet.com

Share your thoughts!